Quick Answer: What Are The Two Dominant Systems In The Abdominal Cavity?

What organs are in the abdominal cavity?

The abdomen contains many vital organs: the stomach, the small intestine (jejunum and ileum), the large intestine (colon), the liver, the spleen, the gallbladder, the pancreas, the uterus, the fallopian tubes, the ovaries, the kidneys, the ureters, the bladder, and many blood vessels (arteries and veins)..

Which organ is not contained in the abdominal cavity?

Organs of the abdominal cavity include the stomach, liver, gallbladder, spleen, pancreas, small intestine, kidneys, large intestine, and adrenal glands.

Where is the stomach located in the abdominal cavity?

Stomach. A thick-walled digestive organ found on the left side of the abdomen that is divided into four regions: the cardia, fundus, body, and pylorus.

What is the largest organ in the abdominal cavity?

liverAt the height of the cavity is the liver, the body’s largest organ.

What is in the abdominal cavity?

The abdominal cavity contains the greater part of the digestive tract, the liver and pancreas, the spleen, the kidneys, and the adrenal glands located above the kidneys. …

What is the abdominal cavity bounded by?

The abdominal and pelvic cavities are bounded by the respiratory diaphragm cranially (superiorly), the inferior ribs and bony pelvis laterally, and the pelvic diaphragm caudally (inferiorly) (Figure 4.12E,F). The morphology of the vertebrae is described with the back (see the section “Skeleton” above).

What organ systems are in the thoracic cavity?

Thoracic. The thoracic cavity is the anterior ventral body cavity found within the rib cage in the torso. It houses the primary organs of the cardiovascular and respiratory systems, such as the heart and lungs, but also includes organs from other systems, such as the esophagus and the thymus gland.

What are the two ways to divide the abdominopelvic cavity?

In order to facilitate description, it is artificially divided into two parts: an upper and larger part, the abdomen proper (abdominale cavity); and a lower and smaller part, the pelvis (pelvic cavity).

What is the function of abdominal cavity?

The borders of the abdominal cavity are comprised of the posterior peritoneal surface, the anterior abdominal wall, the inferior pelvic inlet, and the superior thoracic diaphragm. The abdomen functions to house the digestive system and provides muscles essential for posture, balance, and breathing.

What is below your stomach called?

The abdomen could be described as the area between the lower ribs and the pubic bone. This part of the body contains your intestines, bladder and the female reproductive organs.

What organ is in the thoracic cavity?

It contains the lungs, the middle and lower airways—the tracheobronchial tree—the heart, the vessels transporting blood between the heart and the lungs, the great arteries bringing blood from the heart out into general circulation, and the major veins into which the blood is collected for transport back to the heart.

What organs are found in the abdominopelvic cavity?

The abdominopelvic cavity is a body cavity that consists of the abdominal cavity and the pelvic cavity. It contains the stomach, liver, pancreas, spleen, gallbladder, kidneys, and most of the small and large intestines. It also contains the urinary bladder and internal reproductive organs.

Which two glands are found in the thoracic cavity?

Also found inside the thoracic cavity are the right and left lungs, which are on either side of the heart. Also note the thymus gland, which in many young mammals can be found in the throat and the thoracic cavity.

What is the difference between the abdomen and the abdominal cavity?

Basically, the abdomen is just the area that you can see which lies in between the pelvis and the chest while the abdominal cavity is the space beneath the abdomen. It is something that you cannot see unless you open up the insides of the person. The abdomen in most mammals including humans is therefore the belly.

What 5 organs are found in the thoracic cavity?

The organs of the thorax include the thymus gland, the breasts, the heart, the lungs, the tracheobronchial tree and the pleurae. The thymus gland is located in the superior mediastinum of the thoracic cavity but may also extend into the neck.